Steadfast: A Word for 2011

So many hopes, goals, and expectations.

A fresh new year.

One word to (hopefully) be a common thread throughout the days, weeks, months.

Stead-fast (adjective): 1. fixed in direction; steadily directed; a steadfast gaze. 2. firm in purpose, resolution, faith, attachment, etc., as a person: a steadfast friend. 3. unwavering, as faith, resolution, adherence, etc. 4. firmly established, as as an institution or state of affairs. 5. firmly fixed in place or position.

When I first began to ponder what word I would choose to bear, for better or worse, throughout this next year of my life, my mind was all a muddle. So many innocent not-yet-broken hopeful resolutions of sorts.

I’ll be kinder, I said. A better person. More creative. Selfless. Happier. More spiritual. Gentler. A better pray-er…

Several words came to mind. Good words. Words I need to infuse into my life. None stood out though, like this one.

This one, is just right.

The Father whispered it into my soul, reminding me that nothing is done my own strength. Nothing grand is accomplished with my feeble attempts at bettering myself. It is only He that can mold me into what I was created to be – a Christ-worshipper, a dwelling for the Holy Spirit, a display of His glory and goodness. And in order to let Him do this I must be steadfast in Him.

And so I will seek after steadfastness, and trust the other things will come to fruition through His strength and by His grace. This is my resolution for this year. This is my word for 2011.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Psalm 51:10 :: Oh, that my ways were steadfast in obeying your decrees! Psalm 119:5 :: Give careful thought to the paths for your feet and be steadfast in all your ways. Proverbs 4:26 :: You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you. Isaiah 26:3

Inspiration for this post came from one of my most favourite bloggers, SortaCrunchy, in this post of hers. Also, read this from A Holy Experience for an inspiring and most eloquent post on How to Set Out into the New Year.

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Changing Seasons, God Stuff, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steadfast: A Word for 2011

  1. sadie says:

    perfect word, Beth. Thank you for this inspiring post!

Leave a Reply

