Reflections for the Season :: Vol.1

{37 days to go}

There’s no denying it now.

Christmas is right around the proverbial corner, and my calendar is threatening to go double-time until it comes. Baking, partying, gift-buying, wrapping, card-writing, decorating, heart-preparing, tree-trimming, crafting… and not enough free hours in my days.

This year I want to begin a new tradition (well, several new traditions, actually, but this is one of them). I want to periodically record my thoughts as we go through the Christmas season.

These days the pressure can be overwhelming. The desire and expectation that I place on myself for everything to be “just so” is quite unrealistic. I know this. And yet I continue to desire and expect it. I think it’s because I love to give gifts. Not just any gifts, though. I like to give “the perfect gift”… the one that I’m super excited to give from the minute I buy it until the person opens it and (hopefully) loves it!

Then I remember this…

And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice cold in the snow, stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so?  It came without ribbons.  It came without tags.  It came without packages, boxes or bags.  And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore.  Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before.  What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store.  What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.  ~Dr. Seuss

Perhaps the answer is more simple than I’m making it…

I want to remember this whole season of love/peace/joy/rejoicing. I want to remind myself to enjoy these aspects of Christmas – to focus on them more, and to try to infuse them into everything I do. To search and create and put together the perfect gift, but doing so for the sake of love. Peace. Joy. Christ…

I want to measure every activity by them, and ask myself, ‘why’? Does this activity/party/tradition/expectation contribute to the way my family celebrates the coming birth of our Savior and King with love/peace/joy/rejoicing? If the answer is no, then it’s time to examine our priorities again.

Hopefully recording some of my thoughts this Christmas season will help me to stay grounded in these things!

:: our nativity scene (built by my grandpa) ::

“Glory to God in the highest heaven,
and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reflections for the Season :: Vol.1

  1. averity says:

    37 days??! Eeeeee!!!! 🙂 I’m so excited!!! We actually found that it was a lot easier to make Christmas low-key and just about Christmas when we were up North and away from family. It’s sad to be away, but it’s also a great push to develop your own thought out traditions. Having a baby also cuts through a lot of the consumerism and “busy” and really makes you think about the First Christmas. Not that we have it all figured out or anything, I’ve just figured out how to take some of the pressure off: produce a baby. 😉
    Joyful wishes to you guys!

Leave a Reply

