Fresh Pesto, Where Have You Been All My Life?

Homemade Pesto Pizza

As many of my friends and family already know, I went to a naturopathic doctor in August because of suspected food sensitivities in myself/Aliza. It turned out I was definitely right – Electro-Dermal testing showed that I am sensitive to the following:

Cow dairy, wheat, corn, strawberries, most food additives/preservatives, table salt, miracle whip, tomatoes, leeks, eggplant, alfalfa sprouts, white sugar, beet sugar, stevia, corn syrup, aspartame, chili powder, tarragon, rosemary, cardamom, bay leaf, walnuts, black-eyed peas, pinto beans, fava beans, & passionfruit.

Yikes! I decided to strictly (or, as strictly as my newly-strengthening will-power would allow) eliminate wheat, cow dairy, corn, and tomatoes, and the other things as much as possible, but not worrying about them as much.

The reaction from Aliza in her first couple of months of life was projectile vomiting several times in an hour, off and on all day, reflux after lying down for half the night, extreme gassiness and tummy aches, and increased fussiness. As soon as I began to avoid these foods, she would become a totally different baby – going through 6 outfits (from spitting up/throwing up) in one day, and then not spitting up/throwing up at all the next. The fussiness/gassiness would all but disappear, and she was happy. I learned slowly how long the foods would take to get through my system and into the breastmilk – 24-48 hours – and which were the worst (cow dairy). The test showed that I am ok with goat’s milk instead of cow’s, and that spelt is ok instead of wheat.

So I’ve learned to improvise…

The photo above is of a homemade pizza that we had for supper last week. Pizza is one thing I really miss – but with the crust (wheat), tomato sauce, and cheese on top, it would have been definite bad news. So we made a homemade spelt crust (actually, honey did – he’s the pizza crust master around here), then I made homemade pesto with fresh basil to go on instead of tomato sauce, we put our toppings (spinach, mushrooms, red and yellow peppers, and onions for me), and topped it with shredded goat cheddar.

It was the best pizza I’d ever eaten.

Seriously… it tasted like something that I could have ordered in a fancy restaurant. Only better.

Yum.

I’m really enjoying cooking everything from scratch and fresh ingredients… it just tastes way better!!!

Crustless Spinach Quiche (aka Fritatta...)

Simple salad of lettuce, almond slivers, and cranberries, with homemade Italian salad dressing (Yum!!)

The salad dressing recipe is here, and it is my new favorite – so simple and easy to make, and stores nicely in the fridge for a few weeks. Good for you too, with fresh raw garlic in it!

I’m loving finding more and more ways to cook delicious AND nourishing food for my family.

Oh, and last night I made egg drop soup, of which I forgot to take a photo. It was actually really yummy (and honey gave it his approval). Recipe HERE (I skipped the celery, and my soup had a bit of turkey in it because it was homemade soup stock in which I’d included some of the leftover turkey).

What are you cooking up lately? Anything new and exciting?

 

 

 

 

 

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Natural Minded Living, Real Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Pesto, Where Have You Been All My Life?

  1. Lola says:

    I love this. I’ve actually never been tested but I know wheat and dairy are really bad for me and the baby. I’m scared to know all the other things. I think you should move here and we can start a WAPF club here! Your pizza looks delicious.

  2. redandhoney says:

    Oh Lola, don’t tempt me 😉 My beloved Atlantic ocean, you, and a WAPF club? Heck yeah.

Leave a Reply

