Do You Really Believe?

Honey and I began watching The Truth Project together today while the kids were asleep. (A 12-part video series of lectures on Truth and Worldview from a Biblical perspective, designed for a small-group-type of setting).

It’s riveting.

The website describes how the series came about:

“In a 2003 study, the Barna Research Group revealed a stunning statistic that continues to reverberate throughout the evangelical world – only nine percent of professing Christians have a biblical worldview.

Because of this, today’s believers live very similarly to non-believers.  A personal sense of significance is rarely experienced, we spend our money and time on things that fail to satisfy, and we begin to wonder what life’s ultimate purpose really is.  We are, in short, losing our bearings as a people and a nation”.

***

The first video was fantastic, but it was the last 90-ish seconds that really punched me in the gut and left me grasping for an appropriate and truthful response.

Del Tackett, the lecturer, asks:

“Do you really believe

that what you believe

is really real?”

“Do you really believe that what you believe is really real? You know folks, 36 of us here, if we walked out of this room really believing all this stuff was really real, I mean really real, we’d turn the world upside down. I’ve often thought if I really believe that when I went before God in prayer that I was really walking into the throne room and God was leaning forward with his arms out, and says “come closer, let’s talk”, if I really believed that, I wouldn’t have trouble praying, I’d have trouble getting up and leaving. Do you really believe that what you believe is really real?

Oh Father, would you begin that work in me? Would you begin that work in these students here? That would begin to allow us the privilege to gaze upon your face, that we might behold, the reality of who you are and the truth-claims that you’ve given us, and Father, that we might begin to understand who we are, and what it is that we really believe, that causes us to act the way we do, and that we would see our culture and the reality as you see it. And Father, that you would stir within us the same kind of compassion that we see in you, that when you call us to go, we would say here am I, send me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.”

***

So, do you? I don’t honestly know that I can emphatically always say yes. This would be an excellent discussion for my Epistemology* class in university. The question is not “do you believe?”, but rather “do you really believe that what you believe is really real?” If the answer is yes, as we Christians so desperately want to say, then why do we act the way we do? Why aren’t we different from the world? Why do my prayers often end abruptly with daydreams or drifting off to sleep? Why do I justify my sins in my mind when I KNOW they are sins?

The devil is not that smart. His lies are not that clever. But our flesh wants to sin, so we choose to believe the lies. If we really really believed that what we believe is true, how would our world look then?

I wonder.

…I can’t wait to watch the rest with my Honey… “being tranformed by the renewing of our minds…”

*Epistemology = the philosophical theory of the nature of knowledge.

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in God Stuff, Good Times With the Honey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do You Really Believe?

  1. naomi says:

    I’ve reflected on this a lot in the past year, doubting whether I really actually believe in the reality of Christ and Christianity because (just as you mentioned) if I did really believe in the reality, wouldn’t my life look different?
    As I thought about your post I realized my life is different, just maybe not as radically different as it ought to be thanks to sin, selfishness and satan. Note, I am not making excuses I’m just telling it like I think it actually is.
    Epistemology would have been an excellent place for a conversation like this b/c in having a ‘justified, true, belief’ doesn’t necessarily determine the life you will live. satan knows the truth about God Almighty and lives in response to that in a seemingly totally opposite manner than we think he should.
    Anyway, its 830am. I’m going back to bed now.

  2. Krista says:

    Wow, deep thoughts. Have you watched the rest of it? Hmmm…I think I will have to come back and read this through again, really thinking about it.

    Krista

Leave a Reply

