Adventures in Feverish Mumblings

Things get a little crazy when Mommy is out of commission, and Daddy is running the household/caring for both kids/managing his regular responsibilities/caring his sick wife. We almost lost Ally amongst the chaos in the house, but at least she was happy 🙂

It’s been a bit nuts around here, as I was stricken with severe mastitis last week, having to get antibiotics by IV in the hospital for 3 days (I only had to go in for the afternoon each day, didn’t have to stay overnight). It was the sickest I ever remember being in my entire life, and it came on extremely quickly. Monday evening I realized that I had been feeling some soreness in my left breast that began at some point that day, and that I was beginning to feel sort of achy, like the flu. Since I’d had mastitis 2 weeks before, I suspected right away. “Uh oh”, I said to Chris. We went to bed, and I couldn’t get warm. I had several blankets on me, but was shivering violently and beginning to feel worse and worse. After 2 hours and dozing off and waking up freezing, we took my temperature and it was only registering as a low-grade fever. I should have known better (turns out our thermometer is broken). An hour or so later Aliza woke up, so I sat up in bed and began to nurse her. After just a minute, I began to feel like I was going to be sick, so I pulled her off and laid her on the bed, and stumbled into the bathroom and sat next to the toilet. My vision was somewhat fuzzy. Chris asked me what was wrong, I mumbled something about throwing up, and felt like I was going to pass out. The next thing I know Chris is saying to me urgently “Beth! Why are you on the floor?!”. I think I moaned, and he helped me back to bed. I remember wondering if he should call an ambulance, and wondering if I had the strength to tell him. I think at this point he gave me 2 extra-strength tylenol. I might have nursed Ally some more lying down. As the tylenol kicked in, I stopped shivering. It felt like a warm blanket was being laid over my body, as the shaking slowly stopped. I drifted off to sleep. When I woke in the morning, Chris had gotten me into the doctor (thanks to a cancellation) that morning. My fever was 102, and I figured it was probably around 104 or 105 in the night. I think I looked pretty pathetic, and she sent me to the hospital for the IV. Now I’m switched over to the oral antibiotic, and feel so much better. I’m supposed to “rest” and take it easy. Haha! Whoever gave that advice does not have 2 children age 2 and under. Thankfully Chris’s parents are here this week visiting, so I actually do have some opportunity to take it easier than normal (aka. get some housework done that’s been bugging me for ages, and relieve some mental stress!).

My IV arm - they put the IV in, and left it there and sent me home. There was a needle sticking into my vein for 24 hours. They wanted to leave it in for another 24 hours in case I needed a third dose (which I did), but I was NOT excited about that idea, so they took it out, and started a new one the next day. Thankfully the antibiotics worked - the doctor said I was probably almost "septic", which means the infection had gotten pretty bad, and was beginning to lead to blood poisoning. Hence the antibiotics directly by IV, for which I am very grateful!

 

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Craziness as of Late, Whereby I Ramble About This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adventures in Feverish Mumblings

  1. sadie says:

    Oh wow, I had no idea you were THAT sick!! I’m glad you’re on the mend!

  2. Katrina says:

    Glad you’re feeling better! I would have HATED to have that IV in my arm for more than a day…I don’t know how you did it!

  3. mat says:

    wow that’s insane! I am glad to hear that your in-laws are there to care of the little ones while you rest – and I hope you are…housework can always get done later…a few extra dustbunnies won’t kill you.

  4. naomi says:

    haha….i was signed in as mat.

Leave a Reply

