2009 in Review

The center of the majority of my days in 2009 (photo: december 09... kinda unsure of this whole snowsuit/ice/snow/cold thing).

I did one of these for 2008 when it was circulating around on facebook, and then decided I wanted to do one again for 2009. So it’s been on my list of to-do’s for a couple months now. I know, 2010 is nearing the halfway mark… but I decided to quit procrastinating on it, and just do it! (Perhaps my New Year’s Resolution should be to not procrastinate so much!)…

***

In 2009

I Saw…
my baby turn one
the seasons change
a whole lot of my home
orange trees
sunny skies
freezing cold alberta

I Went To…
new brunswick to visit family
the library
the swimming pool
play dates
friends’ houses
families’ houses
new york city with the carson’s
the dr. newman breastfeeding clinic
alberta for missionsfest and to check out PSMA
florida for vacation
disneyworld
the PM forum in Guelph

I Thought About…
moving to alberta
chris getting to attend PSMA
becoming AIM reps
how much it would stink to move so far away
what i want from a church family
what i don’t find in a church family
when to get pregnant with #2
how much i love sunshine
how much i love my hubby and baby boy
the real/traditional food movement, and what it means to me

I Got…
a macbook pro
a great deal on a florida vacation
a confirmation that we should move to alberta
my house sorted and packed
pregnant with #2

I Gave…
photo books of Isaac and our family life
money towards missions and other causes
lots of fun gifts
kisses and hugs in abundance
a gazillion things away in an effort to downsize and simplify
my heart to jesus daily
myself a kick when needed 🙂

I Learned…
what it is like to have a toddler and be pregnant again
that it costs a lot to move across the country
that my soon-to-be-new-town is so small it has no stoplights
that isaac was NOT a fan of long car rides (better now though)
many more domestic skills (mostly in the kitchen)
a ton from my photography workshop

1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?
go to florida, go to alberta, get ready to move away from family and friends

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
i don’t make any.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
several people (somewhat close to me)… it seems everyone i know is in the baby-making season. one of my best friends got pregnant in 2009, and will give birth in 2010, as will I.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
no, thankfully.

5. What countries did you visit?
U.S.A. (Florida), as well as New Brunswick, Quebec (driving through), and Alberta.

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?
more patience (with my family, with myself, with the Lord).

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
September 16th, Isaac’s first birthday.
October 26, 2009, the day we found out we are expecting baby #2.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Continuing to raise Isaac, going from babyhood to toddlerhood. growing in patience (more still needed!).

9. What was your biggest failure?
i don’t know!

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
no, other than a cold, etc. thankfully!

11. What was the best thing you bought?
the cost of my online photography workshop… or isaac’s noise machine – that thing is brilliant… maybe other things, but they elude me now… i try to not be into “stuff” for the sake of “stuff”.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
isaac is overall an amazing child. he makes me proud every single day. he learns and grows so quickly, and is very bright! my hubby is amazing as well, and i love him so much.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
no one i know personally. just the usual stuff in the news.

14. Where did most of your money go?
who knows… hopefully the right places. groceries, rent, etc.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
having another baby! finding out that katrina’s pregnant!

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?
isaac’s “She” album, and of course, Psalty.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
again, happier, although I didn’t know that was possible!

b) thinner or fatter?
about the same, but gaining weight now that i’m pregnant again.

c) richer or poorer?
about to be poorer (financially), as we go onto full missionary support, but are only at 50% of our target… but growing richer in love and happiness every day!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
taking more photos, reading books, enjoying the outdoors

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
spending money. surfing the net (i love the stuff i’m reading, it’s just that it’s easy to get sucked in). worrying. judging. frowning.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
being with family, opening presents, eating, relaxing, trying not to think about moving in a month

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?
again and again with chris

22. What was your favorite TV program?
i don’t really watch TV. maybe the amazing race?

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
i don’t think i hate anyone.

24. What was the best book you read?
reread Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, and read The Chronicles of Narnia to isaac over several months. both are tied for my faves.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?
jack johnson, i guess. awesome music to relax with.

26. What did you want and get?
lululemon pants. they are amazing! worth the money! other than that I don’t remember… i tend to want practical stuff as gifts, which i love, but is not terribly memorable.

27. What did you want and not get?
i dunno… more financial contributers to our missionary support I guess. but I trust that God has a plan!

28. What was your favorite film of this year?
can’t think of one. not much good coming out of hollywood these days.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
i don’t really remember… i turned 26, and i celebrated with family and friends, i remember that much. i think we went to cora’s. or was that the year before? lol….

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
nothing at all.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?
a range of post-pregnancy clothing, regular clothing, and again back to pregnancy clothing! i like a classic/feminine style with a bit of attitude thrown in. i like what i like, and don’t like what i don’t like. is that descriptive enough? haha!

32. What kept you sane?
my honey tried, but i’m kinda nuts. i’m ok with it.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
none. I don’t care about celebrities at all. my role models are not usually the famous type.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?
well, not a whole lot, really.

35. Who did you miss?
the coker’s, when they moved back to trenton. relatives in NB.

36. Who was the best new person you met?
ummm… this question will definitely be easier to answer for 2010 (after moving to AB!).

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009.
i continued to learn that i don’t want to settle for less than what God is calling me to do (hence, moving to AB).

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

My Savior, My God (by Aaron Shust)

I am not skilled to understand
What God has willed, what God has planned
I only know at His right hand
Stands one who is my Savior

I take Him at His word and deed
Christ died to save me; this I read
And in my heart I find a need
Of Him to be my savior

That He would leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I
Before I knew my Savior

Chorus (2x’s)
My Savior loves, My Savior lives
My Savior’s always there for me
My God: He was, my God; He is
My God is always gonna be

Yes, living, dying, let me bring
My strength, my solace from this spring;
That He who lives to be my King
Once died to be my Savior

That He would leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I
Before I knew my Savior

Chorus (2x’s)

(Instrumental)

Chorus: (2x’s)

My Savior loves, My Savior lives
My Savior loves, My Savior lives

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

