Real Sea Salt vs. Refined Table Salt

On this quest to feed my family in a way that helps instead of hinders our health, I’ve discovered that nothing is safe from inspection.

It’s not just about the major changes like not eating refined sugars, eating whole grains instead of white flour, and consuming healthy fats instead of invented ones. Instead I’m growing more and more accustomed to questioning everything that I bring into my kitchen, and ultimately use to nourish (or not) our bodies and minds.

One of those little things is salt.

Like saturated fat, salt has been framed. But let’s back up. First of all what are the options here? Until recently, I didn’t even realize there WERE options… I guess I’d heard of “sea salt”, but pretty much thought nothing of it. I figured it was “bad”, just like regular salt.

Here’s what Megan at SortaCrunchy says about the debate:

Refined salt (even the white sea salt sold in regular grocery stores) has been stripped of all the trace minerals from the sea and had ‘free flowing agents’ added in.  Moist grey sea salt contains trace minerals that are in their natural form. I don’t think it’s any coincidence that salt is naturally paired with natural iodine (which industrial salt tries to mimic with synthetic iodine) and that people people crave a little salt on their food for flavor. Natural unrefined sea salt is a healthy addition to our foods!

Now see, this totally makes sense to me! Minerals are good for you… therefore we want to consume them, not strip them from our food before eating. Of course, before anyone mentions it… moderation and common sense are important, as with anything. I personally find that a few shakes of real sea salt on my food (veggies, air-popped popcorn, etc) takes the yum factor up several notches.

Since I’m really not a researcher, and others have already said so many good things on the subject, I’ll just give you a couple of excellent links to check out, instead of reinventing the wheel:

Here’s another article posted on simpleorganic.net, about the health benefits of real sea salt.

This one is also a good article on how the AMA (American Medical Association) has recently spoken out against salt without taking into account the differences between real sea salt and the processed stuff. Yet again, the mainstream recommendation is not based on a balanced view of the true facts.

I’ll leave it with you – are you afraid of salt? Don’t be! Just make sure you get the right kind. Real sea salt that has not been processed and stripped of its natural minerals should be colorful (pinkish/greyish tones), and chunky (needing to be freshly ground).

So, what do you believe about salt? Yummy? Forbidden? Unhealthy? Necessary?

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Real Sea Salt vs. Refined Table Salt

  1. Nancy says:

    I think switching to sea salt has been our lastest little step in becoming healthier 🙂

  2. averity says:

    Hey Beth! I have two questions –
    Where do you get your salt? (we’ve just been using the least refined sea salt I can find, which is still processed…)
    and…
    What do you feed Isaac for snacks?! If Maren had her way, she’d have dried fruit and cheese, with the occasional side of mushroom. All. The. Time. I feel at a loss for clever, nutritious, easy, kid friendly items. She doesn’t like humus 😦

  3. naomi says:

    I tend to eat soooo little salt/sodium loaded foods and refined sugars too that for me my concern is minimal. I think where I would find the most change in my diet is in regards to butter vrs. margarine or what sort of oil is best (e.v. olive vrs. ???)
    We have however decided that we would must prefer to eat things sweetened with honey rather than sugar. Which also (sadly) means there will be quite a bit less baking in our home since honey is quite pricey.

Leave a Reply

