Cheap Therapy

Cooking.

OK, attempting to cook. Well, actually succeeding brilliantly at times, and at others, giving new meaning to the word “bomb”.

But to be perfectly honest… the best therapy is not only in the act of cooking itself, but also in the poring over new potential recipes and possibilities. I’m forever trying to find that perfect balance between health and yum… and when they coincide perfectly, it’s positively blissful.

Right now, all of the open tabs in my browser are recipes…

Asparagus Fritattas, Avocado Salsa, Chickpea-Vegetable Salad with Curried Yogurt Dressing, and Parmesan Garlic Flax Crackers. I think I’ll have to learn how to make hummus to go with that last one.

I think I’m most excited about the avocado salsa. As soon as my avocados ripen, I’m on it.

This post is really about nothing other than my fondness for food, and my gratefulness for my God-given taste-buds. I’m a lover of food. I’m pregnant, so I’m entitled. Oh heck, let’s be honest… I just love food all the time, pregnant or not.

Food can be therapeutic in so many ways. Thankfully, I stop short of eating myself into oblivion and obesity. As much as I appreciate food and it’s beauty, I don’t allow it to become an idol, which is important to distinguish. I want to honor God with my cooking and with taking care of my body, so, like I said, the real reward is in finding that lovely balance.

So, without a smooth transition between the ramblings of a pregnant foodie and the ensuing story, I give you the following:

After a crappy weekend (actually, a crappy week) of being sick (to add to the strep throat for me and gastroenteritis for Isaac, Chris felt left out and decided to get a barfy tummy bug as of Saturday)… we are all feeling a little cabin feverish. Add to that being away from our families for a major holiday for the first time, and you get a kinda miserable vibe going on. We just needed to get out of the house, so we went to the only restaurant in town that was open on Easter. It’s run by a Greek couple (Greek people in Three Hills? Who knew?!), and so naturally I had the souvlaki. It was adequately tasty and served the purpose of breaking up the monotony of the barfy/strep/grossness of home. Don’t worry, we didn’t breathe on anyone. Much.

*********

I take no responsibility for the previous ramble-tastic post. I claim brain mush and lack of coherent thought from a week of illness and a general chaos from a lack of normal. Take it as you will. Just still love me, ok?

Over and out.

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cheap Therapy

  1. Naomi says:

    oh man, you and I are almost kindred spirit when it comes to food. I spent 4 hours in the kitchen on good Friday (WHILE FASTING) baking bread, muffins and cookies.
    Mat and I ate bread and wine for dinner Friday night (Communion) it was awesome.

Leave a Reply

