Give the People What They Want.

The people are demanding more blog posts, and I’m under the gun to get ‘er done.

(By “people” I mean “my mom”, and by “demanding” I mean “telling me that I’m a good writer and should write more often”).

Aughh! The pressure!

Kidding. But seriously, even just having a blog puts pressure on me. (This pressure is from me, though, not my mom). I want to write regularly, and wish I had time to do so. Alas, I have too many other things that vie for my time and energy, so sporadic and irregular will have to do!

Anyway, now that I’ve gotten that off my chest…

Chris doing his first assignment for PSMA while enjoying a hot chocolate made by his lovely wifey (from an AIM AIR mug, of course 🙂

Things are going well here in our little house on the prairie. We are “settling in” (whatever that means). We are slowly getting rid of boxes. Actually, they are all stuffed behind the laundry room door, which makes it really annoying to get in and out. We think we have someone to take them, but I’m not sure when they’ll be picking them up. If it’s not soon, we’re just going to take them to the recycling place.

Side note: they DON’T have recycling pick-up here… isn’t that NUTS??? If you want to recycle, you have to drive it to the recycling depot yourself. I feel guilty every time I put paper, glass, or metal in the garbage, but I’m sorry – I have a trillion other things that come before “driving stuff to the recycling depot” on my to-do list each day. They don’t have city compost here either, which adds a ton of garbage. I hate putting things like potato peelings in the garbage, knowing they could be going back into the earth to become rich soil. I would like to start my own backyard compost this spring. Toronto’s city compost was amazing – you could even put disposable diapers in it (which didn’t make sense to me, but hey, I’m not a city compost expert). AND, they only pick up 2 or 3 bags of garbage per week, depending on whether you get grumpy garbage guy, or nice garbage guy.

So, where was I? Oh yes… we are indeed surviving the Wild West. There’s an aquatic center in town, and we signed Isaac up for swimming lessons (I go in the water with him). Our first one was today, and it was fun! We did some games/songs, and practiced floating (holding on to Mommy) with a pool noodle, and jumping off the edge into Mommy’s arms (Isaac kinda just stepped off, but I started dunking him in halfway, and he loved it!). The lessons are 6 weeks long, and hopefully Isaac will become more and more comfortable in the water by the end. The poor little guy gets chattery teeth so easily though, so we went into the warm tub when it was done 🙂

Today was a gorgeous day with blue skies and above zero temps. The snow was melting, but there is still enough to play in. Our huge backyard is connected with a bunch of other huge backyards, which makes for a big play field for the area kids. There is much fun and frivolity going on most days. This afternoon Daddy and Isaac decided to be silly and go outside without coats or even boots for Isaac. I came out to investigate these shenanigans, and discovered it really WAS warm out! (I made Chris put Isaac’s boots on at least). Daddy was pulling Isaac around the yard in his sled, so I grabbed the camera and got some shots, then we switched, and I pulled Isaac around. Then Isaac got out and explored the snow and bit of mud showing where the snow was melting, along with a puddle or two on the sidewalk. Like a true boy, he got all muddy and wet, but seemed to have a simply marvelous time. We were out there for about an hour, and walked in to a house smelling of delicious roast in the slow cooker, accompanied by potatoes, carrots, broccoli, and apple-raspberry spice cake for dessert. My Dad (Grandpa) is enjoying his time here, although it is sadly going by rather quickly! He flies home Saturday morning… 7am flight, which means he and Chris have to leave the house at 4:15am. Ew. Just ew. Getting up at 4:15am is against my religion!

I’ve been so busy lately, I hardly have time to remember that in just a few months, we will become a family of four! Baby sister is doing well, kicking me lots, and growing by leaps and bounds. The all-knowing internet tells me that she should be almost a pound now, and about 11 inches long. She is a tiny version of a newborn, and now needs to pack on the cute baby fat. We are having lots of fun finding names we love… our problem will be narrowing it down to one!

Well, I can’t think of anything else at the moment, and this post is already long enough, so I’ll end here for now. I hope you are all doing well, I would love to hear about YOUR days!

Lots of love from your favorite Albertans!

PS – I will be posting pics of today’s outdoor adventures ASAP, but right now my bed is beckoning me. Good night!

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Give the People What They Want.

  1. Katrina says:

    I agree…more blog posts!! I love reading about what’s going on with you guys!

    And no recycling!! Seriously?! That sucks, I guess we’re spoiled here.

  2. naomi says:

    *sniff*
    I miss you guys so much.
    Thanks for the long blog post.
    I am glad to hear that you are starting to enjoy your adventure in the west!

Leave a Reply

