The Mundane Today.

*the sunrise I saw out my living room window, my first morning in our new home*

I am inspired by one of my best friends’ posts today on writing about the mundane everyday. She figured out that she writes to stay connected to her best friends (of which I am privileged to be one!). Because we all live far away from each other (though the other two are only a couple hours drive apart while I’m on the other side of the country), we don’t get to be a part of each others’ daily lives in the same way as when we all lived in one city. So, for you girls, here’s my today thus far:

***

3:00am – Isaac wakes up, and since Chris is away (my saintly husband usually does night duty now), I get up to get him and rock him back to sleep for about half an hour.

7:30am – Isaac wakes up for the day. I stumble into his bedroom after being awoken from a really weird dream (something about North America facing imminent destruction and me trying to convince my family that we should all fly to Europe before the imminent destruction is made public, and flight prices skyrocket). We snuggle in my bed for about half an hour (Well, I snuggle, he wiggles).

8:00am – I ask Isaac if he’d like some breakfast and he promptly wiggles off the bed and runs into the kitchen, chanting “eat? eat? eat!!!”

8:15am – We have breakfast (homemade half-whole-wheat bread toast with natural peanut butter, and green smoothies).

8:30am – We head into Isaac’s bedroom to get him dressed for the day. I put him in a pair of overalls that he hasn’t worn in a while, which look really cute, and fit well over his cloth diaper bum.

8:45am – We play in the living room for a while… I check my email and google reader, and Isaac amuses himself with his many toys scattered around him.

9:30am – I decide I really should have a shower, but how will I do it? I used to put Isaac in the jolly jumper in the bathroom doorway, but since moving I’ve just showered while Chris watches Isaac. I think he’s getting close to the weight limit of the jolly jumper, so I know I need to figure something else out soon… but for today – Chris is gone, and I need to shower! So I haul the jolly jumper out, set it up, and sit Isaac in it. He doesn’t mind it, even though his knees are almost dragging on the ground, lol. Thank goodness he’s a skinny kid!

10:00am – After getting dressed and not bothering with makeup, we head into the kitchen, where I replenish our homemade pancake mix container (Isaac “helps” to measure the flour), and then I putter away tidying and cleaning up the kitchen, unloading the dishwasher, etc.

12:00pm – We make pancakes for lunch, yum!

1:00pm – Naptime for Isaac… rest time for Mommy πŸ™‚

… and I’ve been interrupted from writing this post about 4 times today, so it’s now 9:55pm (started writing it after breakfast)… and now I can’t remember the minute to minute details. I did make chicken stew from the chicken leftover bones, etc. from earlier in the week. We had it for supper, and it was so amazingly delicious, if I do say so myself. I just finished catching up on my google reader, with a really cheesy Christmas movie on in the background to keep me company (we don’t have any TV channels). Now I think I’ll go to bed, in case my favorite little man didn’t get the memo that I don’t actually miss him that much at 3am, and could actually stand waiting ’til morning to snuggle… but before I do, I think I’ll put the laundry into the dryer.

There you have it… probably the most supremely boring blog post you’ve ever read, if you’re still reading. You girls are awesome (you know who you are), and I miss you lots… but I enjoyed this chat πŸ™‚

Talk to you soon.

Much love,

Beth

PS – This is our house… the photo was taken the day after I arrived in Three Hills. There was this gorgeous “ice fog” all over the trees, making it look like a winter wonderland… the whole town looked like this, it was so beautiful!

About redandhoney

I blog at www.redandhoney.com!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Mundane Today.

  1. Naomi says:

    see. now that’s the stuff I wanna know about. πŸ™‚
    what Christmas movie were you watching/not watching.
    I do the same thing all the time. Last week I watched/didn’t watch Hildalgo. You would like that movie. It’s an adventure film. Rent it.
    πŸ™‚
    ps – you house looks lovely. Kinda makes me miss Alberta. Then I look out our window and see green grass. You can have all the snow you want. πŸ˜€

    loves!

    • redandhoney says:

      It was “Jingle All the Way” with Arnold Schwarzeneggar. I think it’s fairly obvious why I was only “kinda” watching it. Man was it bad!

  2. Chris says:

    Great shot of the house … and I found out what the stuff on the trees is called … hoar frost … thought it was kinda funny πŸ™‚

  3. Krista says:

    Great to read your blog again. I love every bit of it, even the “mundane” day. πŸ™‚

    Krista

Leave a Reply

